Can I be intolerant to Quorn?
Quorn™ products have been eaten for more than 25 years with nearly 3 billion Quorn meals now served.
However, it’s important to know that Quorn foods can contain allergens, such as egg, milk and gluten. These are clearly marked on the back of pack within the allergy advice section.
There have been rare cases of adverse reactions to Quorn, which contains Mycoprotein, a member of the fungi / mould family (Fusarium Venenatum). Mycoprotein is high in protein and fibre which may cause intolerance in some people. The foods standards agency states that “research estimates that between 1 in 100,000 to 200,000 people will react to it” (Quorn ™ products). All protein foods have the potential to cause an adverse reaction in some consumers. About one in 200 people are thought to be intolerant to soya for example.